Artificial Intelligence

Rich

This is a bit of a long read, but an interesting article on how the most successful / powerful artificial intelligence programs out there are self taught and due to the vast amounts of data that they compile and consume to come to their conclusions, no one really understands how they make the decisions they do.   Yet they are very accurate.

https://www.technologyreview.com/s/604087/the-dark-secret-at-the-heart-of-ai/

I had no idea that this is going on. Thanks a lot for posting that article. Amazing goings on.

Leave it to DARPA to be deeply involved. If anybody is going to unleash an out of control artificial being on us, it's going to be them.

LOL at this "“I think by all means if we’re going to use these things and rely on them, then let’s get as firm a grip on how and why they’re giving us the answers as possible"

duh.

There have been several instances of nuclear launches initiated by computers, that were prevented by a human being.

6 hours ago, Rich said:

This is a bit of a long read, but an interesting article on how the most successful / powerful artificial intelligence programs out there are self taught and due to the vast amounts of data that they compile and consume to come to their conclusions, no one really understands how they make the decisions they do.   Yet they are very accurate.

I would imagine they can calculate finite but wide range probabilities at an astronomical speed rate which dictates most their responses.

I think of it like a combo lock,  for a person it would take them a long time to go through the number sequences until they came up with the right number, for a computer, or AI it might be done instantly. The way we make a thought is instantly, but for a computer or AI, it might need to go through that combo lock process to determine which of those combo numbers carries the correct choice (or in most cases % outcomes). The highest probabilty is the choice it makes

22 hours ago, Rich said: