Judgement & Humility: Grant, Bailey & Hanson

What is the real NUB  of the problem this year? Does it go back to January? I am a student of leadership and I just wanted to say what I am feeling.

Great leaders are best because they call upon the talents of the people around them. They are not impressed with their own skills. In fact, the moment you start reading your own press clippings you are in trouble.

We have run into a one-man rule situation with our top dog, Michael O'Shea. When he starts to think his judgement is better than everyone around him, we start to see major mistakes made. One-man rule is dominated by ego and all its foibles. It also takes away the power of the best people on the team. I am sure our coordinators and our positional coaches are suffering from a high-level of frustration.

Back at the start of this calendar year we decided that we didn't need Grant,  Bailey & Hanson.

Grant has been a difference maker as long as he has been here. Somebody decided he was injury prone because we used him to run him up the gut on too many running plays. Watching the game between the Als & Argos, we saw Grant to be their key in the victory. Grant supplies constantly better field position; plus his big plays completely turn games around as it did Thursday. But we decided we didn't want him at his premium price (perhaps $135 K).

Bailey has been our best blocking receiver for years, greatly contributing to our running game and protection schemes. Hiss absence is one of the biggest reasons our blocking looks so questionable. He is Toronto's leading receiver this year. We refused to even make an offer to him. What if he was on our club this year? Last year we signed him as an afterthought. Who was the mastermind on this decision?

Hanson looked fantastic on special teams as he always does. To what lengths did we go to re-sign him. Did we think promoting Miller to special teams coordinator would be enough without the appropriate personnel?